12 Hours During Christmas - Dec 29

Event announcements and discussions

Moderators: Jeff Rowland, CZVR Admin Staff

Locked
Anson Tam
Posts: 34
Joined: 19 Oct 2018, 05:17

12 Hours During Christmas - Dec 29

Post by Anson Tam » 04 Dec 2018, 18:15

Image

Date: Saturday, December 29th 2018
Start: 0900 PST (1700Z)
End: 2100 PST (0500Z)

VATCAN presents 12 Hours During Christmas, and we’re inviting you! It’s our premier and an inaugural event that we hope will continue year after year. We’re opening up all of our airspaces starting at 9 AM Atlantic Standard Time that’s 13:00 Zulu in a staggered fashion for 12 hours. What that means is you can enjoy full coverage across all of Canada for at least 8 hours.

So drag out your favourite piece of tin get her in the air, and we’ll be there to safely guide you and your piece of tin from departure to arrival and all points within. Schedule your flight strategically though to reap the benefits of full ATC coverage Coast To Coast. We’re going to try and convince some of our friends in our surrounding regions such as Alaska, Greenland and parts of the USA to join the fun. We sure hope to see you there!

Each Of Our FIR’s will open as follows:

Moncton/Gander and Oceanic at 9 AM AST – 13:00z
Montreal, Toronto and Edmonton Radio (FSS) at 9 AM EST – 14:00z
Winnipeg at 9 AM CST – 15:00z
Edmonton at 9 AM MST – 16:00z
Vancouver at 9 AM PST – 17:00z

All FIR’s will close at 9 PM local time respectively, with the event ending with Vancouver’s closing at 05:00z on Sunday, December 30, 2018. (Edmonton FSS will close at the same time as Vancouver)

The event schedule is available here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... sp=sharing
To sign up, please reply below or email me with your requested time and position.

Feel free to reach out to me if you have any questions, comments or concerns.
Image

Anson Tam
Posts: 34
Joined: 19 Oct 2018, 05:17

Re: 12 Hours During Christmas - Dec 29

Post by Anson Tam » 29 Dec 2018, 20:39

Thank you everyone for the great turnout!

We managed to have CTR online for the full 12 hours and we were fully staffed for half the event. Vancouver was also the busiest airport on the entire network at one point!

Huge shout out to all of you for making this event possible.
Image

Locked